In 2018 started the long-term process revealing the Gaps in 40 principles of the C&C. Based on the discussions with researchers of all levels, administrative and technical staff, the Gap Analysis and the Action Plan for upcoming 4 years was prepared. Implementing the strategy is one way to demonstrate that the HIPC fosters a supportive environment for researchers.

The whole process was overseen by the Steering Committee (Directive 7/2017). Members of the Committee asked the Heads of the Departments for nomination of at least one person with the experience and interest in the HR issues. The representatives of the researchers at all levels, administrative and technical staff established the Working Group, which members actively, voluntarily and responsibly participated in the Gap Analysis Process and Action Plan conceiving.

The result of this one-year effort is the HR Excellence in Research Award. Nevertheless, this is not the end of our efforts. After two years, we will review the Action Plan and after next three years, independent experts to assess whether we meet the prerequisites for HR Excellence in Research will visit HIPC. The award will either be defended or withdrawn.

Time schedule: HRS4R procedure chart (source:

HRS4R procedure chart

ACTIONS carried out in the Initial phase (2018)

04/12/2017 - Appointment of the Steering Committee

01/01/2018 - Project No. CZ.02.2.69/0.0/0.0/16_028/0006251 was granted to HIPC by the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports

25/01/2018 - Working Group meeting

08/02/2018 - Working Group meeting

19/02/2018 - Working Group meeting

06/03/2018 - Employee Assembly - Public introduction of C&C and HRS4R

26/03/2018 - Working Group meeting

23/05/2018 - Working Group meeting

30/08/2018 - Gap Analysis sent to all employees

05/09/2018 - Working Group meeting - revision of Gap Analysis

05/10/2018 - Action Plan sent to all employees

11/10/2018 - Working Group meeting - revision of Action Plan

31/10/2018 - Employee Assembly - Public introduction of the Action Plan

15/11/2018 - Gap Analysis and Action Plan sent to the European Commission

ACTIONS planned for the Implementation phase (2019 - 2022)

2019 - 2020 - Implementation of the Action Plan

after 2 years - Interim assessment

2021 - 2023 - Implementation of the revised action plan

After 5 years - Renewal with the site visit



  • RNDr. Ing. Martin Kalbáč , Ph. D. (Vice-director for Economy)


  • prof. Martin Hof, Dr. rer. nat. DSc (Director)
  • prof. RNDr. Patrik Španěl, Dr. rer. nat. (Vice-director for Science)
  • prof. RNDr. Zdeněk Samec, DrSc. (Deputy Head, Department of Biophysical Chemistry)
  • doc. Mgr. Michal Fárník, Ph.D., DSc. (Vice-director for Education)
  • Dr. Ing. Kateřina Minhová - Macounová (Chair of the Trade Union of the HIPC)
  • Ing. Zuzana Musilová, Ph.D. (HRS4R organization administrator)
  • Ing. Zita Zajačková (Personnel Department)


  • Mgr. Jiří Brabec, Ph.D. (Department of Theoretical Chemistry)
  • Mgr. Marek Cebecauer, Ph.D. (Coordinator for the participation of the Institute in EU framework programmes and EU structural programmes/Department of Biophysical Chemistry)
  • Mgr.Kseniya Dryahina, Ph.D. (Department of Chemistry of Ions in Gaseous Phase)
  • RNDr. Martin Ferus, Ph.D. (Head of the Department/Department of Spectroscopy)
  • Ing. Marie Fryčová, Ph.D. (Department of Structure and Dynamics in Catalysis)
  • Mgr.Michal Horáček, Ph.D. (Deputy Head/Department of Molecular Electrochemistry and Catalysis)
  • RNDr. Jan Hrušák, CSc. (Department of Theoretical Chemistry)
  • Mgr. Piotr Jurkiewicz, Ph.D. (Department of Biophysical Chemistry)
  • Antonín Knížek (Department of Spectroscopy)
  • Mgr. Jaroslav Kočišek, Ph.D. (Department of Dynamics of Molecules and Clusters)
  • František Kuneš (Head of the Department/Technical department)
  • RNDr. Jan Langmaier, CSc. (Department of Electrochemistry at the Nanoscale)
  • RNDr. Magdalena Michlová, Ph.D. (Department of Low-dimensional Systems)
  • Dr. Ing. Kateřina Minhová Macounová (Department of Low-dimensional Systems)
  • Ing. Zuzana Musilová, Ph.D. (HRS4R Organisation Administrator/Department of Low-dimensional Systems)
  • doc. Dr. Ing. Tomáš Navrátil (Department of Electrochemistry at the Nanoscale)
  • Mgr. Ludmila Šimková, Ph.D. (Department of Molecular Electrochemistry and Catalysis)
  • Ing. Blanka Sirová (Administration department)
  • Ing. Květoslava Stejskalová, CSc. (Secretary of Vice-director for Education/Management)
  • Karel Štys (Technical department)
  • RNDr. Hana Tarábková, Ph.D. (Department of Electrochemical Materials)
  • Dis. Lenka Valášková (Administration department)
  • Veronika Valášková (Department of Low-dimensional Systems)
  • Ing. Zita Zajačková (Department of Low-dimensional Systems)
  • Mgr. Markéta Zapletalová (Department of Low-dimensional Systems)
  • Mgr. Veronika Zelenková, Ph.D. (Secretary of Vice-director for Science/Department of Low-dimensional Systems)
  • Ing. Naděžda Žilková (Department of Low-dimensional Systems)